欢迎访问司迈实科技(北京)有限公司官方网站!客户对每件产品的放心和满意是我们一生的追求,用我们的努力,解决您的烦恼!
Banner
首页 > 新闻动态 > 内容

网络研讨会:微孔聚合物及其膜应用

日期

Mon 8 January 2024(2024年1月8日,星期一)

时间

14:00 GMT | 15:00 CET | 9:00 EST(22:00 北京时间)

时长

1 Hour Incl. Live Q&A

图片1

2024年英国SMS第一个网络研讨会将邀请吸附领域的一位巨头为膜应用中特定聚合物的使用提供关键见解。

曼彻斯特大学化学系的Peter M. Budd教授将与我们一起探讨他的研究进展,探讨内在微孔聚合物(PIMs)在膜应用中的潜力。

通过研究具有改善长期性能和增强渗透性的材料,可以解决气体分离、碳捕获和能源效率面临的关键问题。

免费注册链接:

https://surfacemeasurementsystems.com/webinar/web-8jan-polymers/?utm_campaign=Webinar+promotion+2023&utm_source=Web+-+12+Dec+-+iGC+Geo+%28copy%29+%28copy%29+%28copy%29+%28copy%29+%28copy%29+%28copy%29&utm_medium=Email

图片2

Prof. Peter Budd

Department of Chemistry,

The University of Manchester

 

ABSTRACT

Polymers of Intrinsic Microporosity and their Membrane Applications

 

Prof. Peter M. Budd

Department of Chemistry, University of Manchester

 

It has been estimated that 10-15% of world energy consumption goes into the separation of molecular mixtures, often using energy-hungry processes such as distillation.1 Membranes – thin films that act as selective barriers  offer the prospect of energy efficient separations for many uses, including the supply of pure water, the removal of greenhouse gases, and the manufacture of many of life’s necessities. Researchers are seeking to

 develop membrane materials that can be tailored to give an optimum combination of permeability and selectivity for specific applications.

 

Polymers of intrinsic microporosity (PIMs) are glassy polymers which possess high free volume and high internal surface area as a consequence of their relatively rigid, contorted macromolecular backbones.

2 They comprise fused ring sequences interrupted by spiro- centres or other sites of contortion. PIMs have a high affinity for gases such as carbon dioxide, and for small organic species. PIMs are being investigated as membrane

 materials for a variety of separation processes, including gas separations (e.g., carbon dioxide capture) and organophilic liquid separations (e.g., bioalcohol recovery).

 

In recent years there has been significant research on PIM-based membranes aimed at enhancing selectivity, increasing permeability and improving the long-term performance. This includes (1) new polymer synthesis, (2) manipulation of polymer topology, (3) chemical post-modification of precursor polymers, (4) thermal or ultraviolet treatment of membranes,

(5) formation of polymer blends and (6) the addition of various types of filler to form mixed matrix membranes.

 

 

References

 

1. D.S. Sholl and R.P. Lively, Seven chemical separations to change the world, Nature, 216,

532,435-437. DOI: 10.1038/532435a

2. F. Topuz, M.H. Abdellah, P.M. Budd and M.A. Abdulhamid, Advances in Polymers of Intrinsic Microporosity (PIMs)-Based Materials for Membrane, Environmental,

 Catalysis, Sensing and Energy Applications, Polym. Rev., 2023.

DOI: 10.1080/15583724.2023.2236677

 

Website

 

https://personalpages.manchester.ac.uk/staff/Peter.Budd/